IN THIS ISSUE
Both Employers and Employees Get Benefits Under the Workflex in the 21st Century Act
EMPLOYMENT POLICY: MARC FREEDMAN, Vice President US Chamber of Commerce
There’s a new entry in the paid leave debate, and it supports a trend already occurring in the modern workplace: Employers are increasingly embracing workplace flexibility by offering more options for their employees regarding when, where, and how work is done.
Construction Helps Oregon Hit Lowest Unemployment in 42 Years
CONSTRUCTION: The Associated Press in News,
August 14, 2018 11:45 am

The U.S. unemployment rate exactly matched Oregon’s rate in both months. During the past two years, Oregon’s unemployment rate has been remarkably low and steady.
Winners and Losers as Oregon's Population Ages
HOUSING: THE OREGON BUSINESS, by Lynne Terry
As investors flock to the red-hot elder-care market, long-term care bills loom for consumers and Medicaid.
The U.S. Housing Market Looks Headed for Its Worst Slowdown in Years
HOUSING: Bloomberg Businessweek July. 26, 2018 9:41 am
The Market appears to be headed for its broadest slowdown in years.
OREGON UPDATE
creating a strong economy
Second Round of China Tariffs Escalates Trade Concerns
ECONOMY: THE OREGON PROSPERITY REPORT
The Trump administration earlier this month announced a second list of Chinese products on which it intends to impose tariffs. The move came after China announced retaliatory tariffs in response to earlier U.S. tariffs on Chinese products. The back-and-forth threatens to escalate into the type of trade war that business associations warned would be the result of punitive tariffs.
Securing Our Digital Future by Building the Cybersecurity Workforce NOW
TECHNOLOGY: By Jenny Menna, SVP, Cybersecurity Partnership Executive, U.S. Bank
You may have heard that cybersecurity was a hot industry or an in-demand career choice. These are understatements. What other industries do you know have a 0% unemployment rate? This is the case for the cybersecurity field and the trend will only continue. Learn what you can do to help build the workforce. The implications of not doing so affect us all.
State Announces New Funding Awards for Affordable Housing
GOVERNMENT HOUSING: Oregon Housing and Community Services
SALEM, OR – Oregon Housing and Community Services (OHCS) yesterday announced funding for the development and preservation of 796 affordable homes through the 2018 federal 9% Low Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC) and HOME awards, which leverage local, state, and private investments. 
New NFIB Poll: Americans See Small Businesses as Crucial to Economy
ECONOMY: Published @ NFIB.com
Washington, D.C. (May 23, 2018)  ̶  Americans find small businesses vital to day-to-day life and the economy and also prefer small business owners as elected officials over major CEOs, according to a survey released today by NFIB. The research, commissioned by NFIB and conducted by Morning Consult, also showed that while Americans value the importance of small business, many recognize a variety of barriers to starting one.
THE COACH IS IN
ARE YOU PRODUCTIVE ENOUGH?
CAREER: Article By Elizabeth Grace Saunders, hrb.com
Productive: “Achieving or producing a significant amount of result.” Enough: “As much or as many as required.”
The Value of Professional Development
PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT: Article By Stacey Derrig, Southern Oregon University Assistant Director, Adult Education and Janet Hartmann, Southern Oregon University Professional Development and Test Center Coordinator.
The cost of training employees versus turnover costs can make a big difference in the bottom line and employee motivation.  
LEARN MORE →
CPM Real Estate Services
REAL ESTATE & DEVELOPMENT: Member Business Profile
CPM has managed, maintained and sold real estate throughout Southern Oregon since 1974, with locations in Medford, Ashland, and Grants Pass.
Gemstone Alchemy
HEALTH & WELLNESS: Member Business Profile
Experience beautiful handcrafted jewelry that is much more than just jewelry. " In business, AnnaMariah urges you to pay attention to your intuition and inner guidance – for these are key to being true to your soul's purpose".
promoting the community
The UPS Store, Locally-owned
BUSINESS RESOURCES: Member Business Profile
Our UPS Store location has been open for 25+ years, being owned and operated by the same family for 14 of those years.
Mahar Homes
REAL ESTATE & DEVELOPMENT: Member Business Profile
For over 40 years, Mahar Homes, a family owned and operated company, has built a reputation as the premier home builder in the Rogue Valley and is responsible for many renowned residential and commercial developments and building projects in the area.
Travel Oregon Takes Home Two Tourism Awards 
TRAVEL AND TOURISM: by Cassandra Profita Follow and Jeff Mapes Follow OPB/EarthFix Aug. 6, 2018 5:30 a.m. | Updated: Aug. 8, 2018 11:40 a.m.
Winners of the National Council of State Tourism Directors (NCSTD) 2017 Mercury Awards were announced this week at U.S. Travel Association’s annual Educational Seminar for Tourism Organizations conference in Phoenix, Ariz. The NCSTD honored Travel Oregon with two Mercury Awards: one for Special Projects for the preparation work on the total solar eclipse, and another for International Marketing for inspiring tour operators and media from eleven countries to highlight Oregon as a premier destination during the “Oregon Road Rally.”
local spotlight
The Gifts of Authenticity, Permission to bring your true self to work and to life
PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT: Diana Hartley, Authentic Leadership Consultant, Member Contribution
We live in a world were anonymous voices, images and words constantly command our attention telling us what to do and how to be. The intrusion of mass and social media is increasing as job dissatisfaction, uncertainty, addiction and depression are also on the rise. What’s going on?
Southern Oregon Producers Form Rogue Valley Association
TRAVEL AND TOURISM: by Cassandra Profita Follow and Jeff Mapes Follow OPB/EarthFix Aug. 6, 2018 5:30 a.m. | Updated: Aug. 8, 2018 11:40 a.m.
Winners of the National Council of State Tourism Directors (NCSTD) 2017 Mercury Awards were announced this week at U.S. Travel Association’s annual Educational Seminar for Tourism Organizations conference in Phoenix, Ariz. The NCSTD honored Travel Oregon with two Mercury Awards: one for Special Projects for the preparation work on the total solar eclipse, and another for International Marketing for inspiring tour operators and media from eleven countries to highlight Oregon as a premier destination during the “Oregon Road Rally.”
Renatta Tellez
VP of Communications and Programs
Editor
As we approach the 100-year anniversary of The Chamber of Medford/Jackson County, we’ve been working hard to bring you a new way to look at and engage with our local businesses, community, and news that impacts our region and economy. One of the first steps we have taken this month is redesigning the Business Review with a modern, energized look and feel, which is a more interactive and engaging way to highlight our community, optimize engagement and reach for our advertisers because our goal is “helping business succeed”.   This new digital format is being designed for all devices, so you can take it with you wherever you go. Consider this first issue a work in progress as our team learns the new technology. We will continue to make tweaks in the coming months, so stay tuned. We wanted to send you a few helpful hints ahead of time, so when you receive it, you are ready to fully engage with it.
Hints:
  • Scroll up and down to look at all the content at a glance, like you would on a website
  • Scroll left and right to “turn the page”, like you would with a traditional paper magazine or newspaper
  • Click The Chamber Logo at the top of any screen to start at the beginning
  • Click on the "burger" icon on the left top corner for table of content
I am more excited than ever about where we’re headed, and proud to help bring the Business Review into a wide-open future. We hope you’ll want to spend even more time with it, whether on your laptop, tablet, or mobile phone.
Like always, each issue will have a collection of articles around a central theme. This month’s focus is Real Estate and Construction, which like most topics directly touches other aspects of our community. I hope these articles are informative and inspiring. Unemployment is at a 42-year low in Oregon, which is great news, but also reminds us about the need to train and increase our workforce for the long term. Assisted Living facilities are exploding throughout the state, due to aging baby boomers. Otherwise, referred to as "the silver tsunami", something we know too well here in Jackson County. Retirement is such an important part of our local economy and we are thankful for it. We welcome growth and recognize the need to build facilities and staff them to support our seniors and the people who care for them?

The choices we make about construction, permits, workforce, immigration and house prices along with current issues with smoke, will directly affect the affordability of our beautiful region – to live and work here in Jackson County. The fires that burn every year are a battle we continue to fight as a community. Many members are pushing for creative strategies of forestry management and effective law-making and we must support them. These are challenging issues, but solvable. 
Here at The Chamber, we are proud that you have made us the voice of business in Southern Oregon for almost 100 years, and we have already started looking ahead to continue to be the voice of business for the next 100 years. I am more excited than ever about where we’re headed, and proud to assist in bringing success to The Chamber and our members. Best,
Renatta
FROM THE EDITOR
FEATURED ARTICLES
THE CHAMBER LEGISLATIVE REPORT
LEGISLATION: JWA Public Affairs, John Watt
Oregon voters will be voting on affordable housing, immigration, taxes and limitations on the legislature, in addition to one legislative referral.
When It Comes To Wildfire, Politics Lag Behind Science
LEGISLATION: by Cassandra Profita Follow and Jeff Mapes Follow 
OPB/EarthFix Aug. 6, 2018 5:30 a.m. | Updated: Aug. 8, 2018 11:40 a.m.
“To let fires burn in July and August is ridiculous.” — Idaho Gov. Cecil Andrus in the New York Times, Sept. 22, 1988
SOUTHERN OREGON WILDFIRES: A LOCAL PERSPECTIVE
LOCAL SPOTLIGHT: Allen Purdy, President, S+B James Construction,
Written By Rebecca Scott
As a local businessman, parent and outdoor enthusiast, I have experienced the impacts of the wildfires and smoke firsthand. For the second consecutive summer, hazardous smoke levels have negatively affected businesses and kept people inside — or forced them to leave the valley. This is a serious problem that needs an immediate response from all parties.
THE BUSINESS REVIEW
HELPING BUSINESS SUCCEED
down-arrow-animated

The Chamber of Medford/Jackson County

— August Issue —
The Official Digital Monthly Publication of
Medford-Jackson County
Chamber of Commerce
101 E. 8th St.  |  Medford, OR 97501
Phone: (541) 779-4847